Accademia Vergani

Travelogue Umbria - Shining stars in the Italian heartland

Southern Tuscany like in a picture book: hills curved as if by an artist's hand, cypress-lined driveways to proud palazzi, vineyards and olive groves, now and then a defiant medieval village. A soothing calm lies over the gentle landscape. An hour's flight from Zurich is the unexciting, the exciting.

 

The medieval town of Montepulciano is perched on a hilltop visible from afar. There you can taste the legendary "wine of the nobles" in the Talosa winery not far from the pretty main square. Vino Nobile is also available at the typical Italian wine bar in Piazza San Francesco d'Assisi. The name of the wine bar is pure poetry: "E lucevan le stelle" (the stars are shining). So don't be surprised if romantic thoughts arise in a place with such a name. If you should even spontaneously be tempted to propose in this ambience, you can visit the popular marriage church of San Biagio just below the town. And because the way to a man's heart is through his stomach, we recommend a visit to the Ristorante "La Grotta" right next to the holy site. There, by the way, you can reconsider the matter of getting married over a glass of Vino Nobile ...

Further east lies the ancient cultural city of Cortona, a former capital of Etruscan civilization. Today it is famous for its DOC Syrah wines. And as the setting in the film "Under the Tuscan Sun". Connoisseurs indulge in an Italian aperitif under the arcades of the "Teatro Signorelli" café. Inside the building is one of the most beautiful old theatre halls in Italy. A stone's throw away, the Trattoria "Dardano" tempts you with excellent local cuisine. If you haven't reserved a table, you can take a seat on an old chair in the "open air" waiting room on the sidewalk in front of the trattoria.

 

 

The main cultural and spiritual attraction of Umbria is undoubtedly the unique city of Assisi. At the end of the 12th century, two young people who made world history lived and worked here: Francis and Clare of Assisi. The two saints are still highly venerated today. Around the globe, Franciscan monks and Poor Clares follow the ascetic lifestyle of these mystics. They even left traces in Umbrian viticulture: Monks cultivated the grape variety Sagrantino, which translated means "holy wine", in Montefalco near Assisi for centuries. Marco Caprai, the legendary Umbrian wine king, is proud of the rich historical heritage of his homeland: "Here in Montefalco, every brick looks back on a long history." With a touch of reverence, he leads us to the listed church of San Fortunato, where the world-famous frescoes by the painter Benozzo Gozzoli can be admired.Change of scenery: In neighboring Bevagna, Marco Caprai shows us the traditional butcher's shop "Tagliavento", which means "to cut the air". Owner Rosita, a woman as energetic as she is original, explains the strange name of her shop: "My grandfather used to chop meat so fast that he also cut the air at the same time!" She hands us delicious smelling sausages and ripe salami. I confess that even I, a part-time vegetarian, was blown away.

 

 

A few steps away, Caprai shows us his insider tip: the wine bar "Bottega di Assu". The decoration consists of a unique mishmash of books, photos and art. The large-format menu is reminiscent of a medieval parchment scroll. Assunta charmingly pours excellent local wines. Italian jazz plays in the background, and if you're lucky, Caprai's portly chef Salvatore is handing out fresh roses from his garden in the tiny wine bar. He also sings Paolo Conte's song in a sonorous voice. Truly, Umbria must be the heart of Italy. It doesn't get any more Italian than this!

Picture: Flavia Vergani | Text: Damian Zingg

 

Are you interested in more articles of this kind? Add our latest Edizione Vergani magazine to your shopping cart for free at checkout or subscribe to our newsletter.

Vergani - The Film
A family with a history.
to the film
online shop
Immerse yourself in our wide and unique range of products.
Welcome

Accademia Vergani

Reisebericht Umbrien - Leuchtende Sterne im italienischen Herzland

Die Südtoskana wie im Bilderbuch: wie von Künstlerhand geschwungene Hügel, zypressengesäumte Einfahrten zu stolzen Palazzi, Weinberge und Olivenhaine, hin und wieder ein trutziges mittelalterliches Dorf. Wohltuende ruhe liegt über der sanften Landschaft. Eine Flugstunde von Zürich entfernt ist die Unaufgeregtheit, das Aufregende.

 

Auf einer weit herum sichtbaren Hügelkuppe thront das mittelalterlich geprägte Städtchen Montepulciano. Dort lässt sich in der Kellerei Talosa unweit des schmucken Hauptplatzes der legendäre «Wein der Adeligen» probieren. Vino Nobile erhält man auch in der typisch italienischen Vinothek an der Piazza San Francesco d’Assisi. Der Name der Weinbar ist pure Poesie: «E lucevan le stelle» (es leuchten die Sterne). Seien Sie also nicht erstaunt, wenn in einem Lokal mit einem solchen Namen romantische Gedanken aufkommen. Sollten Sie sich in diesem Ambiente gar spontan zu einem Heiratsantrag hinreissen lassen, können Sie gleich unterhalb der Stadt die beliebte Heiratskirche San Biagio aufsuchen. Und weil Liebe auch durch den Magen geht, sei ein Besuch im Ristorante «La Grotta» gleich neben der heiligen Stätte empfohlen. Dort kann man sich die Sache mit dem Jawort übrigens bei einem Gläschen Vino Nobile noch einmal in Ruhe überlegen ...

Weiter östlich liegt die uralte Kulturstadt Cortona, eine ehemalige Hauptstadt der etruskischen Hochkultur. Heute ist sie für die DOC Syrah Weine berühmt. Und als Kulisse im Film «Under the Tuscan Sun». Geniesser geben sich unter den Arkaden des Café «Teatro Signorelli» einem italienischen Aperitif hin. Das Gebäude birgt im Innern einen der schönsten altehrwürdigen Theatersäle Italiens. Einen Steinwurf entfernt lockt die Trattoria «Dardano» mit vorzüglicher heimischer Kochkunst. Wer keinen Tisch reserviert hat, kann vorerst auf einem alten Stuhl im «open air»-Wartsaal auf dem Gehsteig vor der Trattoria Platz nehmen.

 

 

Kulturelle und spirituelle Hauptattraktion Umbriens ist zweifellos die einzigartige Stadt Assisi. Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts lebten und wirkten hier zwei junge Leute, die Weltgeschichte schrieben: Franz und Klara von Assisi. Die beiden Heiligen werden bis heute hoch verehrt. Rund um den Globus folgen Franziskanermönche und Klarissinnen dem asketischen Lebensstil dieser Mystiker. Selbst im umbrischen Weinbau haben sie Spuren hinterlassen: Mönche kultivierten in Montefalco bei Assisi jahrhundertelang die Rebsorte Sagrantino, was übersetzt «heiliger Wein» bedeutet. Marco Caprai, der legendäre umbrische Weinbaukönig, ist stolz auf das reiche historische Erbe seiner Heimat: «Bei uns in Montefalco blickt jeder Ziegelstein auf eine lange Geschichte zurück.» Mit einem Anflug von Ehrfurcht führt er uns in die denkmalgeschützte Kirche San Fortunato, wo die weltberühmten Fresken des Malers Benozzo Gozzoli bestaunt werden können.Kulissenwechsel: Im benachbarten Bevagna zeigt uns Marco Caprai die Traditionsmetzgerei «Tagliavento», was so viel bedeutet wie «die Luft zerschneiden». Besitzerin Rosita, eine ebenso energische wie originelle Frau, erklärt uns den sonderbaren Namen ihres Geschäfts: «Mein Grossvater hackte so schnell Fleisch, dass er auch gleich noch die Luft durchschnitt!» Sie reicht uns herrlich duftende Würste und reife Salami. Ich gestehe, dass auch ich als Teilzeit-Vegetarier hin und weg war.

 

 

Wenige Schritte entfernt zeigt uns Caprai seinen Geheimtipp: das Weinlokal «Bottega di Assu». Die Dekoration besteht aus einem einzigartigen Mischmasch von Büchern, Fotos und Kunst. Die grossformatige Speisekarte erinnert an eine mittelalterliche Pergamentrolle. Assunta schenkt charmant vorzügliche Weine aus der Umgebung aus. Im Hintergrund läuft Italo-Jazz, und wenn man Glück hat, verteilt Caprais beleibter Küchenchef Salvatore in der winzigen Weinbar gerade mal wieder frische Rosen aus seinem Garten. Dazu stimmt er mit sonorer Stimme in den Gesang von Paolo Conte ein. Wahrlich, Umbrien muss das Herz Italiens sein. Italienischer geht’s nimmer!

Bild: Flavia Vergani | Text: Damian Zingg

 

Sind Sie interessiert an weiteren Artikeln dieser Art? Fügen Sie unser aktuellstes Magazin Edizione Vergani beim Check-out gratis Ihrem Warenkorb hinzu oder abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

Vergani - Der Film
Eine Familie mit Geschichte.
zum Film
Online Shop
Tauchen Sie ein in unser breites und einzigartiges Sortiment.
Willkommen